The Paul Ehrenfest Best Paper Award for Quantum Foundations recognizes outstanding and influential research contributions to the foundations of quantum physics. The award aims to raise awareness on the relevance of the field of quantum foundations in modern research, and to draw attention to new and interesting achievements in the field.

© Österreichsiche Zentralbibliothek für Physik

The winner of the Paul Ehrenfest Best Paper Award for Quantum Foundations for the year 2018 is:

The committee awarded the prize to Navascues et al. "for the theoretical discovery of a natural set of stronger-than-quantum correlations, which challenges correlations-based approaches to characterizing quantum theory and hints at potential beyond-quantum physics."

The prize is awarded to the most significant paper in foundations of quantum physics, theoretical or experimental, published in a peer-review journal in the five calendar years prior to the prize call (i.e., this year between January 1st, 2014 and December 31st 2018). Papers from all areas in the foundations of quantum physics, and by authors of any background, are eligible for the award, see the rules

The 2018 selection committee consisted of:

  • Eleni Diamanti, CNRS-Sorbonne, Paris
  • Christopher Fuchs, University of Massachusetts, Boston
  • Benjamin Huard, École Normale Supérieure de Lyon
  • Valerio Scarani, Centre for Quantum Technologies, Singapore
  • Markus Mueller, IQOQI Vienna, Austrian Academy of Sciences

Markus Mueller coordinated the selection process at IQOQI Vienna and is looking forward to inviting you to the award ceremony on December 4th at the Faculty of Physics/University of Vienna, please see the invitation here.