The Paul Ehrenfest Best Paper Award for Quantum Foundations recognizes outstanding and influential research contributions to the foundations of quantum physics. The aim of the award is to raise awareness for the field of quantum foundations, and to draw attention to new and interesting achievements in this area without delay. It is awarded for the most significant paper in foundations of quantum physics, theoretical or experimental, published in a peer-review journal in the five calendar years prior to the prize call (i.e., this year we accepted submissions published between January 1st, 2014 and December 31st 2018). Other than that, papers from all areas in the foundations of quantum physics, and by authors of any background, will be eligible to receive the award, see the rules.


Nominations and self-nominations for the present call are to include a copy of the nominated publication and a short (2-3 paragraph) statement of the relevance of the contribution. In the case of single-author publications, the name and contact information of the author is to be given. In the case of multi-author publications, a representative author who will officially accept the Ehrenfest Award in person shall be named and his or her contact information will be included. Consent from all authors as to which author will serve as the representative for the publication shall be obtained by the nominator, and a short confirmation to that effect should be included with the nomination.

The winner of the Paul Ehrenfest Best Paper Award for Quantum Foundations for the year 2018 is:

The 2018 selection committee:

  • Eleni Diamanti, CNRS-Sorbonne, France
  • Christopher Fuchs, University of Massachusetts, Boston
  • Benjamin Huard, École Normale Supérieure de Lyon
  • Valerio Scarani, Centre for Quantum Technologies, Singapore
  • Markus Mueller, IQOQI Vienna, Austrian Academy of Sciences